In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Advertising plays a significant role in marketing. However, in recent years businesses have claimed that they produce innovative goods. There are several reasons that can lead to this situation, however I tend to believe that emphasising highly novel products brings out more advantages for affecting customers compared to any disadvantages it might bring. The reason why companies usually focus on the novelty of their products in advertisements is that there is a widespread competition between producers of those items. What this means is that every business owner wants to capture more market share which leads to higher benefits and financial growth. In this way, they can, additionally, strengthen and enhance their brand which would be valuable if they have a great deal of consumers in the target market. Take for example touch screen smartphones, when they were released for the first time, every company claimed that their smartphones had more modern technology than the others, including high-resolution camera, a new method of touching module and even more qualified hardware. However, I think that the benefits gained by advertising which bolds new abilities are extremely effective. In other words, this influences customers who want to be unique and pioneer by having products wiht the latest technology and new features. This, as a consequence, enhances the sense of fulfilment in consumers. Also, influenced customers may introduce these distinct items to other people in their social network. This means that virus advertising happens without any extra investment. In conclusion, weighing up both the positive and negative aspects of focusing on novel products in advertisements, I would say that the advantages outweigh any of the minor drawbacks for businesses. By bolding goods as an original and creative production, businesses not only gain more profits but also their consumers are more motivated to buy this to satisfy the sense of priority.