Some people argue that the content of what children watch on television primarily influences their behavior, while others believe that it is the amount of time children spend watching television that has a greater impact on their behavior. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While it is true that watching TV affects children, it is difficult to determine whether it is the content of the programs or the length of time spent watching them that has a more significant impact on children. Although the amount of time affects youngsters, the content of the programs has a more marked influence on them. On the one hand, the consequences of watching TV for long periods can be deleterious. Firstly, the longer children are exposed to TV programs, the more likely they become addicted to watching television. When children become over-reliant on television for entertainment, they might need to pay more attention to engagement in outdoor activities. This may result in a sedentary lifestyle that is highly detrimental to their physical health. More importantly, excessive TV watching impairs children ’s communication abilities, making playing or living in harmony with others hard. As a result, children would feel discouraged from having fundamental interactions with people around them if they spent a considerable amount of time in front of the screen, which may hinder their development of social skills. On the other hand, the broadcasted images have the most direct effects on young viewers. Firstly, in most countries, the majority of TV shows present glamorized depictions of inappropriate materials such as violence, drug abuse or casual sex; thus, youngsters may adopt unhealthy habits and improper behaviour. For example, they might fall under the impression that the use of alcoholic drinks is fashionable without being aware of the health risks they carry and later end up consuming these substances. Besides, in our modern consumer society, commercials also affect how children behave. Unwary young viewers could be easily swayed by captivating advertisements for junk food or video games, products whose target audience includes children. They so may pester their parents to buy these goods impulsively. In conclusion, although both factors have their implications, the element with the more considerable impact on children is the content. Hence, parental involvement is essential in controlling children ’s TV viewing habits and shaping their values to help them enter adulthood with a healthy mind.