Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Although many people adamantly argue against compulsory military service, saying it would take time from the youth to do what they want to do, I firmly believe the opposite. Putting the young, both men and women, through the military service is not only harmless, but also a boon to both themselves and our nations. Firstly, we need mandatory military service to provide enough human resource in the army for public services. While the first impression of most people about the function of the army is defense against external invader, this is only a portion of the responsibility of the army. They are also partially responsible to defend the country against natural disasters such as floods, storms or epidemics. When such catastrophic events happen, the military need a tremendous amount of resource to support numerous tasks, both during and after the incidents. Without mandatory military service, the number of officers to help the citizen, either moving them out of the affected area or rebuilding the house/infrastructure, will dwindled. Therefore, to minimize any impacts due to disasters, all of our youth should go through a specific period of mandatory military service. Secondly, military service enhances not only physical health but also mental fortitude of our children. The environment in the army is very strict: the timetable, meal plans and exercise regime for the whole day are meticulously planned and enforced for all men and women enlisted. In other word, there would be no consumption of junk food, staying up late, or parties. A year or even several months following such routine would improve our youth health dramatically. Furthermore, being though a disciplined environment gives our people the resilience needed to flourish. Mental strength is an advantage not only on the battlefields, but also in our everyday, extremely competitive world of work. In conclusion, I firmly believe that policymakers around the world should seriously consider making their military service compulsory. Going through this process is an opportunity for our kids to enhance their body and mind, while the countries has enough resource to defense against both internal and external threats.