Write about the following topic: There is a debate among many individuals that museums and art galleries should present the nation’s art, as opposed to artworks from other countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate whether a country should treat foreign arts as its own has been a contentious argument. Proponents of foreign arts believe that there are no boundaries in art and every art museum should present both foreign as well as local arts equally. However, I strongly disagree with that notion, and maintain that a museum and art gallery should give priority to showcase artworks from artists within the country. In this essay, rational on this belief is delineated. First, the proportion of local arts presented in an art institution is propotionate proportional to the financial gain and reputation gain of the artist. This is especially true for institution that is well-known and well-connected. It is well established that a new artist usually suffer from poor working condition that is non-conductive for creative activities due to low financial status of being a fresh-graduate artist. Without support and promotion from museum and galleries, there is a high chance that young artist need to switch to a different career path, causing a gradually but surely drop in both quality and quantity of local artworks. This led to another consequence, which affected not only individuals but also a nation. Nowadays, local arts are usually advertised as one of the reasons for tourists to come to a city. The deterioration of local artworks due to the negligence of art institution can cause a large drop in amount of tourism, a consequence of which is a loss in the city budget. Lastly, the over promotion for foreign artworks can be a double-edge sword. On one hand, it can promote culture understanding of citizen. On the others, it leads to the eradication of native cultures, especially the ones that are not heavily in trend or promoted. In Vietnam, many tradtional dances and musics are gradually disappearing, as the youth is more focus on outside culture. These priceless cultures are being replaced by foreign, popular musics, such as Korean music from the trendy group Blank Pink. In conclusion, although every arts need to be treated with love and care, I still believe that government, especially museums and galleries, should subsidize and promote our local artists more. This will bring benefits not only to the artist, but also to a nation's cultural landscape and budget.