In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use their money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

Although it is believed that extra taxation for private car drivers is detrimental, I hold the conviction that this enforcement can play a beneficial role in solving traffic issues and the money collected from the extra tax can be helpful to enhance the status of public transport facilities. On the one hand, a group of people assert that private cars are an inseparable part of society due to the fact that an overwhelming majority of citizens are white collars, and their demands for convenient travel cannot be overlooked. Had employees spent their time commuting, it would be a significant dissatisfaction as they work all day long and they must spend a considerable duration of time going to work and returning home. Therefore, private cars should be accepted as a required facility for citizens, and they must not incur excess taxes. For instance, in Turkey, many individuals work in Istanbul, a metropolis, while they reside in the suburbs and find it more comfortable as well as less time-consuming to arrive at work driving their own cars instead of catching buses, trains, or other kinds of public transport. However, other groups of individuals claim that the increasing quantity of cars, especially personal ones, is one of the most remarkable reasons for air pollution, traffic congestion, and environmental damage. Hence, it is essential that governments determine superior amounts of tax for private cars, which leads to a lower utilization of private vehicles and a higher use of public transport. Moreover, a tremendous sum of these taxes can be employed to improve the status of public transportation, encompassing modernizing buses, undergrounds, and even taxis, which causes citizens to take them more frequently. Let us take Japan, a developed country that has modern, clean, and convenient public transport, as an example in which a significant percentage of workers commute to work using the metro, bus, and taxi, according to a survey, as they declare that they are able to catch their destinations without wasting time sticking in a traffic jam. In conclusion, after considering the above-mentioned points and both notions, I am inclined to believe that, governments must take the responsibility of lessening the amounts that private cars are driven. Accordingly, imposing extra tax is one of the appropriate solutions to decrease the users of private cars as well as increase the quality of public transportation and the number of those who prefer using that.