Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two aims are not compatible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate over individuals about whether economic development is possible with a clean environment or not. While some argue that these two goals are not compatible, I believe that it can be done by doing some policies like investing in greener energies and pay subsidies to industries. I will elaborate on my opinion. On the one hand, some state that destroying the environment is an inevitable consequence of economic growth. For example, Exploiting crude oil from the deep sea or making furniture and home appliances by cutting trees certainly damages the ecosystem. To some extent, harm to the environment is a prerequisite for countries and humans have no other choice except to hurt natural habitats for economic progress and to expand infrastructure. For example, since 22, the Amazon has been ruined by the Brazilian government due to some economic reasons. Conversely, others believe that although economic development’s side effects on the environment are undeniable in some perspectives, the thriving and maintenance of the economy and infrastructure is compatible with preserving natural habitats and the environment. Firstly, we, as a policymaker and researchers, can mitigate the negative impacts of economic growth by encouraging investment in green energies and sustainable energy sources. Companies could find new sources of raw materials and energy instead of old solutions. Secondly, the governments could allocate resources to decrease the constant exploitation of natural resources and pay subsidies to industries to use less polluted energy or avoid hurting the environment as much as possible. Thus, these acts can reduce the demerits and negative aspects of economic development in different countries. In conclusion, although there is a common belief that successful economic progress is always accompanied by bad environmental conditions, I believe that players in this game can play their roles by doing some beneficial acts.