When we meet someone for the first time, we generally decide very quickly what kind of person we think they are and if we like them or not. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

It is a human tendency to abruptly judge the personality of an individual on the initial encounter with them. In this essay I will be discussing the benefits as well as the drawback of this human nature. Talking about the advantages, this human instinct can be helpful in a dangerous situation. Human beings a born with an innate survival mechanism, which kicks in during a life-threatening situation and can help avoid such circumstances. For instance, if an individual encounters a shady looking person on a lonely street at night and decides to change the street sensing a dangerous situation, he might have probably averted a bad event for himself. Furthermore, it has been rightly said that the first impression is the last impression. This quote holds true during job interviews. The way an individual presents himself on the first encounter, leaves a lasting impression on the perception and judgement of the employer. For instance, a recent new article showed the people who were well dressed and had good communication skills, increased their job acceptance chances by 40%. On the contrary, the quotes never judge a book by its cover”, holds true in various situations. It is a known fact that every person suffers from some form of social anxiety especially during the initial meeting with an unknown person. Anxiety can make a person vulnerable to lower confidence levels and degrade one’s communication skills, which in turn can leave a bad initial impression on the other person. But once these same people meet multiple time and become familiar with each other, the anxiety gradually decreases and the confidence level improves. Moreover, if one encounters a ill person, he is not able to express himself well and is initially considered a rude person. But interacting with this unwell person would help him communicate his bad situation and this person would be probably judged in a different way. In conclusion, judging someone instantly on their first encounter can have their own pros and cons depending on various circumstances.