Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Technology has been always a source of controversy in many subjects and the crime subject is no exception. On the one hand, some tend to suggest that technological development can decrease crime. On the other hand, others advocate the opposite perspective and claim that this phenomenon may have been contributed by. In this essay, I will delve into both sides and give my opinion. To begin with, nowadays, with the advent of complicated tools, it has been facilitated for criminals to achieve their villain intentions, for example, hackers can penetrate your computer via complex methods and steal your money as well as forge your identity for their own criminal purposes and if they are enough professional, it would be almost impossible to trace them. Moreover, this also makes them able to do their illegal actions in a covert way, cryptocurrency like Bitcoin is a good example that illustrates this subject. It can be used for money laundering and exchanging money associated with drug and weapon bargains. But the question is: technology is working just in favour of criminals? On the other side, the ongoing progress in technology and science has made a great contribution to detecting and fighting criminal affairs, for example, forensics, a powerful method for investigating the footprint of criminals, makes the police able to track fingerprints, test DNA and other evidence against the suspects. Furthermore, with the aid of surveillance cameras, the rate of crimes, from simple driving disobedience to large bank robberies, has witnessed a considerable decline. In the private sector, the enormous companies active in securing computers are also working days and nights to make cyberspace a safer place for financial transactions by updating the antivirus and firewall software. They also make efforts to help parents in protecting their children from prevalent child-abuse behaviours on the internet. To sum up this subject, I would assert that technological advancement is inevitable and in spite of the detrimental aspects that are exploited by criminals, brings more benefits, convenience and security to human society.