In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Individuals have different views about whether an increase in older generations ' population is beneficial for society and governments or not. While some people believe that the elderly bring several issues for the nations, I definitely agree that the positive effects of having more old residents outweigh its negative effects. On the one hand, it is accepted by the majority of people that older generations need further care due to their disease potential such as cancer and diabetes. Additionally, more money should be spent on the expenses of the curing process. Also, the fact that they are not able to do their own tasks leads to some trouble for their children and society as well. They have to spend time and money to take care of the sick elderly. As an example, we witness elderly houses where are full of those parents whose children do not have the possibility of looking after them. On the other hand, there is ample evidence that a large number of grandparents provide some comfort for their children by taking care of grandchildren. This will reduce their lives' expenses since there is no need to pay for the kindergartens. Moreover, it is self-evident that the experience elderly people have achieved during their lives is very precious to be used by youngsters. That is the reason why some companies try to employ retired staff rather than the younger and more energetic ones. Consequently, although some states consider that the older generations are a load on the authorities' shoulders, I am of the opinion that they simplify some aspects of the younger generations ' lives and their valuable experience can be useful for both their family and society.