People living in the 21st century have a better quality of life than the previous centuries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this today’s technologically advanced world, a school of thought holds that it is the lives of humans living in the 21st century that are worth living than ones in earlier centuries. I firmly believe that while the quality of life has increased as time passes, there are several problems which affect people’s living standards in this modern world. On the one hand, it is undeniable that the living standard of people has risen. First of all, the healthcare system has developed considerably. Medical developments not only increase people’s life span but also greatly contribute to their well-being. For instance, modern diagnosis methods have decreased the required time as well as become more accurate and reliable during the treatment process. Moreover, the increase in people’s living standard is also expressed in education. In the past, it would be difficult for citizens to access this human right due to the lack of education institutions. However, education has become available for a wider range of people in this modern world. For example, governments have promoted constructing schools in remote areas in order to meet the people’s needs. On the other hand, there are several issues that today’s people have to tackle, which did not occur in the previous centuries. One of those being massive pollution. Although modernisation has brought about various benefits for humans, it has also put a strain on the environment. For instance, erecting buildings and factories for industrialisation has discharged a colossal amount of emission along with trees being cut down. In addition, employment concerns can also affect people’s quality of life. As the labor market has been increasingly intense and competitive, the young may face unemployment and the employees have to overwork to avoid being dismissed. This not only affects their well-being but also their health. To recapitulate, while the quality of life has increased in some aspects in the 21st century, humans now have to deal with several problems that directly affect their living standards.