In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, in a lot of nations, individuals are staying alive longer than before. It is argued among people that this notion is problematic for governments, while others have this belief that old people can bring advantages to society. I wholeheartedly believe that this statement has a lot of cons for a country, such as a large budget that needs to be considered for elderly people and not having enough services for other individuals because of them. To begin with, although old people are the main pillars of a family, moreover, they are a source of stability, taking care of them is very difficult. It means governments need to have more elderly houses with many equipment so that they can create a safe space for them. In addition, more staff need to be hired for their protection; all of this work requires money. Countries can spend that money on crucial fields rather than old individuals. For instance, in Germany, the population of middle-aged people is higher than other age groups, which is why their governments have no choice but to consider a lot of money for their old population. Another major issue with this notion is that with more old people, young people might not get enough services from their nation due to the reason that older individuals are getting more healthcare services and more attention from governments. Also, with the pensions that older people are receiving from governments, other people ’s salaries might not be enough for them. To sum up, as I mentioned, I do not think that an old population can bring benefits to a country. Also,  I think the cons of this statement will outweigh the pros because having middle-aged people means more money and a lack of services for other age groups.