In some countries today, children are taught from a young age that competition is important and that winning is everything. Is this a positive or a negative development?

The importance of competition and winning is taught to children in a few nations at the initial stages of life. Owing to developing the habit of doing hard work, preparing a strong foundation and teaching essential skills to children, I consider it a positive development. Primarily, teaching the significance of competition and acing to children from a young age leads to developing the habit of doing arduous work. When they realise that there is too much competition in every domain of life, they are ready to tackle upcoming hurdles in their lives, spontaneously preparing them for fighting their own battles. In order to do that, they commence working hard to achieve their goals. For example, had the American children not been taught the importance of competition and winning, they would not have developed the habit of doing hard work. Similarly, the above approach assists children in developing a strong base. If children participate in competitive events and focus on winning at a young age, they will learn from their mistakes and improve them in future. This will bring satisfaction to their lives. Besides making a powerful base, children will learn important skills. While participating in competitions and looking for winnings, they will gain some imperative skills such as decision-making, leadership, communication and sportsmanship. These skills could be improved in upcoming lives when they are already ready to face the competition; consequently, they will succeed in their future. In conclusion, children are taught from early stages of life about the significance of competition and winning is the optimistic trend because it not only develops the habit of doing hard work, prepares a strong foundation but also teaches essential skills to children.