In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the last few decades, the increasing ageing population has long been a subject in many countries. Some people contend that the phenomenon could have positive influences on various aspects of our societies, while others believe that this could lead to detrimental consequences. In this essay, I will address two diametrically opposed views, and reason out the conclusion. First, there is an obvious benefit that is worth considering. The elderly have a wide range of experiences and knowledge in society. Hence, they can be consultants to the youngsters who are seeking for advice. To illustrate, based on my experience, my grandmother raised me and she always taught me how to make wide decisions. When I had a big dispute with my friend, she judged that was actually my fault, and gave me some advice on how to solve this problem. I accepted it, and consequently, it made a satisfying result. In spite of the merit described above, this could lead to adverse negative repercussions. To start with, the outgoings of the government on senior citizens' welfare and caregiving costs a fortune from a socio-economic perspective. The more the number of them goes up, the more the young generations should pay extra taxes for them. For instance, in Korea, the birth rate dipped to 0.6 last year. According to this, many experts predict that the ageing population will rise very sharply within 10 years. As a result, it will charge monumental taxes to the youngsters to raise a fund of yearly pensions for them. In conclusion, it can be observed that there are two contradicting viewpoints, which are both, to a certain degree, convincing. Although it can offer some merits, it seems to me that its risks far outweigh its potential benefits. Therefore, I consider the advantages of this trend do not outweight the disadvantages.