Many people believe that formal 'pen and paper' examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is thought by some people that an old-fashioned "pen and paper" examination is now not the best way to assess their learners' educational achievement. From my point of view, I disagree with this idea and the reasons will be outlined before reaching my conclusion. To begin with, using a formal method gives several benefits to examiners and examinees. In the first place, it can protect a cheating problem. Using the paper-based allows examiners to arrange how far test tables are and the positions can be arranged randomly. For instance, when I took a test in my school in Thailand, which used the "pen and paper" method, the teacher spread all students around the room in a random pattern and each student was far from the other, around 2 metres, which means, we cannot look into each other's answer sheet. Additionally, using the old-fashioned method can protect examinees' eyes. Some schools change their examination methods to the computer-based tests and a test takes about 5-8 hours on the same day. Therefore, test takers might get health problems which interrupt their focus on the test. For example, many countries in Southeast Asia these days use computer-based for educational assessment and their tests take 4 hours long, which starts from 8:00am. to 12.00am. Hence, many students who look at the screen of computers for a long time mostly get problems such as eyesores or headaches which make them cannot concentrate on the tests enough. Overall, there are a lot of new methods of examinations appeared in recent years. However, the pen-and-paper method is still being used to assess educational achievement due to the fact that it provides several benefits to both examiners and examinees.