The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

Child obesity is a challenging dilemma in the modern world these days, especially in western society, where the proportion of obese children has grown by almost 20% in the last decade. This essay will elaborate on several main culprits of this issue and propose some outcomes of this problem. There are various factors leading to the grounds of the rising in number of obese children. First of all, the diet of kids is mostly ignored by their parents. This is due to the ignorance about the essential substances that are needed for the growth of children and bad foods harming their kids. Therefore, harmful meals, such as ready-made meals, which are a quick and easy option for many parents, are usually fed to children, leading to detrimental matter entering the body. Another reason for the large number of obese children is the numerous advertisements. For instance, more and more colorful advertisements about fast food brands like Pizza Hut or McDonald’s appear on every device, attracting children to eat fast food. The effects of this have been and will continue to be very serious. Firstly, children with obesity tend to have more diseases than normal children, especially cancer. In addition, cancer is a very dangerous health problem, which may make the children stay in the hospital forever. Not only that, overweight children often experience bullying from other kids because of the difference in body size. For example, according to a survey in 2022, among 100 students in a high school, more than 30% of them have discriminated against obese people. This can damage obese children ’s mental health and make them feel unconfident whenever they go out. In conclusion, it is evident that there are several causes of this obesity amongst children, and a variety of negative effects. Society must propose methods to end this issue.