It is more important for a building to be functional than beautiful. Architects should not worry about designing buildings as works of art. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people argue that establishments should be more beautiful than functional. However, my view of this issue is that buildings should be constructed functionally, especially, on the point of safety first, and then need to be beautiful for people ’s mental as well. To begin with, architects should consider what a building’s function is. Basically, a building has a function that people enter and stay there. That’s why its safety should be the highest priority. If it has a problem related to durability, even if it is really attractive, it is useless. For example, in Korea, there was a big issue about an apartment. The apartment didn’t have core structures at underground parking lots so the whole building was found to be unstable. Many people who planned to move into it were concerned about this establishment and complained about the company that built it. Nevertheless, I think that the functional aspect of buildings is more important than the beauty of those, but those designs could play a critical role as well. Wonderful buildings make people, who use or just pass by them, feel touched or recharge. They can let workers or residents take a break as well as pedestrians change their feelings. For instance, AMOREPACIFIC, a Korean cosmetic company, was built with great gardens on every floor. It has, definitely, offered rest places to the employees who work for a long time and it has helped them to reduce their stress. To sum up, I firmly believe that it is the most important for a building to be safe while I partly agree that it needs to be beautiful at the same time.