There seems to be increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than Continual assessments. What are advantages and disadvantage?

There has been a significant discussion about methods of evaluating students such as exams and continual assessments. Some people may have claimed that assessing students through exams is beneficial to improve student's abilities. This is true, however, I also believe that this method seems disadvantageous to students at the same time. To begin with, there have been under the siege of critics for taking exams to evaluate students. It has had detrimental effects on both students and the class atmosphere. Unlike continual assessment, which allows children to focus on every part, most students seem to only concentrate on their studies and academic subjects that relate to their tests, which contributes to potentially distracting the class atmosphere. For example, if students are assessed by exams, students will study specific subjects and books in order to get high performance, rather than paying attention to all classes in school. What I am concerned about is that students will demotivate themselves upon broadening their capabilities. However, being evaluated through exams has positive effects on students to some degree. Students might be able to develop their academic performance significantly. For instance, in order to achieve high goals, students will spend most of their time studying, therefore, resulting in improving academic knowledge and skills. Furthermore, students don't have to feel nervous constantly in school. If they are assessed continually, they always have to care about assessing factors such as participating in class and communicating with their peers, which deprive them of freedom. For these reasons, exams have some benefits than we have thought before. In conclusion, although taking exams seems effective at satisfying both students and their performance, I believe that it has potential disadvantages for students like restricting their abilities to experience various academic fields. Thus, I think students should be evaluated between the balance of exams and continuing assessments.