Art classes, such as painting and drawing, are so important to child’s development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely known that art courses, including drawing and painting, take a vital role in fostering a child’s skills like other subjects, so some believe that high schools must add this subject. This writer strongly disagrees with this statement to some extent. Admittedly, there are many reasons why art must be added to the curriculum. Chief of these is that it enhances students’ imagination. Therefore, this indirectly helps them be able to find many different approaches to a problem in other subjects like Math, for example. Moreover, it is a suitable one that helps children unwind after a very long stressful time at school. By doing this, they are no longer suffering great stress and can maintain their study effectively instead of playing video games or watching many films at home. Despite the benefits mentioned above, the drawbacks of art are more considerable, indeed, many students just prefer theoretical subjects to art ones, so if they are forced to study it, it can be inevitable that they feel bored and do not totally focus on the lessons. Thus, this is likely to deprive them of learning what subjects they want, leading to a waste of time. Furthermore, just a few artists nowadays can be successful in painting, so art is not a necessary one, compared to Physics or chemistry. As a result, it should be an optional rather than compulsory one. In conclusion, given the enhancement of imagination skills and alleviation of stress, I do understand why art should become an indispensable subject in schools’ curricula. However, it may make children who are into other ones waste their time and bring negligible benefits and success in becoming an artist.