Art Classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to a child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Some individuals have the belief that studying arts can help children develop as fully as when they learn other subjects. Meanwhile, the majority of people think that those art classes are unnecessary so they should be optional in colleges. This writer party agrees with those views and will demonstrate the reasons below. First of all, it can be acknowledged that learning artistic skills can benefit young generations. Those such as drawing or painting not only help students acquire knowledge about colours, skeletons and even deeper insights into the beauty of the world outside, but they can boost teenagers’ creativity and IQ scores as they mostly use their imagination to draw and design. In this way, young adults can develop themselves day by day when taking part in art courses, even more than studying science. That is why some schools in Asian countries add art lessons as compulsory in students’ studying schedulea. However, there is another point of view that should be mentioned is that those art -making activities are not that advantageous. This is partly because the world is demanding careers that relate to scientific fields rather than artistic aspects. Science and technology are becoming more and more powerful and necessary in citizens’ lives, hence, studying physics or chemistry is extremely crucial for students to be employed easily and to receive high-paid jobs in the future. As a result, some private schools that want their learners to focus entirely on science subjects now cut all the art lessons and replace them with chemistry and physics periods. Taking everything into account, although it is true that art classes are useful for children’s development, the scientific demands of society are also considerable, but after all, we cannot completely disregard art as unimportant in this modern world.