Are classes, such as painting and drawing, are as important to a child's development as other subjects, so it should be compulsory in high schools. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is an indisputable fact that science and technology have permeated almost every aspect of human life and the demand for workers in these two sectors is undoubtedly increasing. High schools, one of whose primary roles is to provide a sufficient supply of manpower for industries, either are pressured into or deliberately focusing on science subjects to cater for such an increase. However, I believe that students need to dabble in the arts because it not only benefits them socially and emotionally, but also helps them think creatively and become more patient. Firstly, children who take lessons in painting, sculpting or writing tend to be more creative and patient. This is because they need to tap into their imagination in order to create or portray something, and it often takes a great deal of time to make a painting or sculpture or write a piece of poem or prose. While the enhanced creativity benefits them in the modern workplace where the ability to think out of the box can help them thrive in the face of the encroachment of automation, patience allows students to pursue their dreams to the end rather than succumbing to hardships along the way to success. Furthermore, children who study the arts learn to express their feelings through different means, and this benefits them emotionally. the reason for this is that not everyone is capable of or willing to tell others about their pain or suffering. In this case, drawing and painting can help children freely illustrate their inner thoughts. Additionally, those taking art-related courses of their own volition derive great pleasure from doing it, and therefore the arts can be a form of recreation after a gruelling day at school. Finally, children can also make friends with those who have these interests and passions in common, which surely benefits them socially. In conclusion, teaching children about the arts can foster important virtues such as patience and creativity and provide them with various ways to express themselves, unwind and widen their social cycle. As a result, schools should make the subjects compulsory in students' best interest.