Government investment in the arts, such as music and museum, is a wast of money. Government must invest this money in public service instead. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

In mostly countries, spending of governments is a debatable issue. Overall, I agree that the government instead of investing money in the preservance of cultural heritage like arts and museums, must focus on maintaining public services. First and foremost point to justify my opinion is that, residents of each country should enjoy the benefits of services provided by the government, this includes maintanence of public transport, healthcare facilities, and educational institutes. These are basic necessities of citizens in each country. Secondly, no doubt that spending on art galleries and museums are important as they are the cultural identity of a country, but not on the cost of other critical public services, priority should always be given to fulfill the basic demands and needs of citizens. Secondly, in order to open and maintain these art galleries and museums, the government requires lot of funding, and it takes years to cover these costs because sometimes it does not attract many local and international visitors. In an emergency situations, no one bothers to visit them, for example, at the time of Covid-19, these places were shut for about two years, so the money was stuck, thus, more hospitals were reruired at that time to treat patients. In conclusion, it is therefore important for governments to consider their investment amount more to maintain facilities that people actually need. Instead of focusing on opening up the musuems and art galleries, it is critical to facilitate people by providing them better medical, educational and other amenities.