Today’s schools should teach their students how to survive financially in the world today. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The education system has seen drastic changes since last two decades. Although, many new subject areas have got compounded at various levels, still, there is always a need to modify the syllabus. Whether teaching basic accounting skills for prospective livelihood should be included in learning scheme? This has become a recent contentious issue worldwide. I believe, if these futuristic practicalities can be taught to them in school, than our future workforce will get propitious results in their ultimate survival. In this essay we will discuss both sides of this debate and will draw an inference. Whenever a new subject area is added in the curriculum, it definitely adds burden to the youngsters. Though they have too many theoretical subjects to learn until secondary education level, still there is a continuous need to teach them the practical areas, because these are the ones which will help them apply their theories in the real life, while encountering the real competitive world. A recent study by the child psychology department of Oxford University has stated that offspring who learns survival skills like money and time management in school, has 40% better chance of succeeding in his career than those who do not get this learning opportunity.Here, the need of the moment is to modify the curriculum in such a way that these areas become an integral part of theoretical learning, rather than making them a separate subject. After all, today's world is a global community with various challenges for human success survival. It becomes inevitable to prepare our next generation for these competitive skills right from the beginning. Students who are able to sort themselves are expected to sustain better when they will be exposed to the organizations for work. Companies today prefer to recruit personnel who have studied these areas during their education over those who did not learn it in schools. Therefore, it becomes critical for schools to embed these areas in school studies. To recapitulate, having mulled over above stated arguments and information, and deliberating all the facts, it can be deducted that teaching skill like financial management is, as vital as, other subjects. I strongly opine that schools should design their curriculum in such a way that these practical skills become an integral part of the theoretical subjects. As a result, providing more smart and efficient human resource for the upcoming world.