Some people think local governments should spend money on art projects of major cities. Because these works of art (statues or painting) could make the landscape more attractive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a controversial topic when it comes to whether the local government should invest lots of money in art projects in main cities. While some people believe these artworks such as statues or paintings can promote the image of a city, I strongly believe those funds should be spent on public services, which would benefit common people's interests. First and foremost, it is very luxurious to spend money on art projects in major cities. There are only a few countries or cities that are wealthy enough to pay some extra money for statues or paintings. To be more specific, most governments around the world do not have the fortunes to be allocated to improving artistic improvement. It is unnecessary to squeeze the money from the other part of the budget to subsidize art projects, which makes people like the image of politicians more than the image of a city. If the government has a surplus budget, it is more realistic to spend on public services such as education and the health system, which will benefit everyone living in the country. Nevertheless, the landscapes like statues would make a city more attractive to attract more tourists to visit. Ironically, the lack of great public transport infrastructure would deter more potential people from visiting here more than one time. Public service is one of the most important elements to determine whether a city or a country is attractive or not. Compare to investing money in some statues or paintings, it is wiser to alter the budget for the public services, which is certainly a lasting way to improve the attractiveness of the country. In conclusion, although spending money on artworks would make the landscape more attractive, it is more important to invest in public services to improve the image of a city in a long-lasting way.