Some people say that the main aim of advertising is to improve the sales of products that people do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common thought that ads are used to lead people to buy what we don’t really need. In this essay, I will express my idea about it showing that the level of my agreement with this statement is under 50%. To begin with, in fact, I believe that it is only a little part of the aim of advertising to improve the sales of a good that people don’t need to buy, furthermore, if this would be the only reason for the existence of an ad, job of an advertiser would finish very soon, because people are conscious of what they need, especially with an increase in prices when it comes to buying something, they tend to think a lot before purchasing. Therefore, I don’t fully agree with this statement because advertising should be considered in all its functions, in fact, it is not possible to say that this is useful just to push people to buy things. Those who study economics know well, for example, that the primary function of that is letting people know about new goods or events which are coming out in sales. Furthermore, commerce and sales would not exist without the aid of a strategic advert, which with strategic words and images attract people to look at it, learn about new products and stimulate their desire to know more about it and perhaps push them to buy it. To conclude, pushing people to buy something that they don’t really need is likely only a consequence of a good advert, but not the first reason for it.