Some people believe that children should be given lessons on how to manage money in the school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Money is required for the survival of an individual and therefore, it becomes important to use it wisely. There are some people who believe that children should be taught how to manage money in their school as learning institutions are responsible for overall development of a child. However, others are of the opinion that families are responsible for giving the child this life skill. I think that both, school and people who are close to children should work hand in hand to assist the child in understanding the importance of money. To begin with, let us consider the reasons why schools should give lessons on managing money. Firstly, schools are responsible for holistic development of the child and therefore, anything related to an individual survival should be given to children in their early years. To illustrate, as lessons with extra-curricular activities such as dance and sports are organized by schools, money saving techniques can also be given by them. In addition, schools these days offer a practical approach to their students and this is the reason why the children not only understand the concepts better but also retain them for long. It is also proven that young kids learn quickly when they are interacting with kids of their own age. Hence, some see this as a responsibility of schools to make children understand the importance of money. In contrast, some individuals are of the view that this is the whole and sole responsibility of families to train kids to know the importance of money. The reason being that they connect with families for most of the times during the day. Apart from this, they view schools as the place where only theoretical education is provided and anything except subjective knowledge should not be their focus. For instance, a study conducted by New York University states that 32% of the learning institutions in the world still concentrate only on traditional knowledge and not on practical ones. All in all, I completely agree that schools should make an effort to impart to the kids the lessons on how to make good use of money. Also, those lessons should be reinforced at home by near and dear ones.