Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

A group of people opine that to be a successful sportsman you need innate abilities, while other deem that sheer hard work and endurance can make you prosperous. I believe that through dedication only we can achieve success. I will substantiate my view in the following paragraphs along with an example. Few people reckon that you need skills which are basic instincts of a human being to become a good player. The main reason behind this must be the genes you inherit from your parents which plays a vital role to hone your career. For example, the daughter of Muhammed Ali learnt basic boxing skills and talent from her father. She has won many medals at national and international level. No doubt, that having natural abilities can help make a career successful. “Success comes before work only in the dictionary” is a well-said proverb. I believe that to make a successful career in sports we not only need sheer dedication but also hard work. By constant practise, we not only increase our stamina but also hone our skills and focus on our weaknesses. Although hard work can be at some times tedious it does yield results. To illustrate, the world-famous batsmen Virat Kohli use to practice for 8 hours in a day to reach a topmost position in cricket history. Hence, practice and hard work play a vital role than natural talent. To recapitulate, in-born skills are necessary to make a a successful career in sports, but I believe that through hard work and practice we can hone our skills very well