Some people think that it is more important to plant tree in open areas of towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Developing the urban designs of cities is a key factor in promoting its residences’ quality of life. Open areas of these cities have become a controversial topic. While some people argue that these spaces should be occupied as housings, others, and I support the idea of utilizing them in planting trees as this definitely participates in solving some environmental issues and benefits the city ’s residences. To begin with, we should protect our environment and work on increasing the green range in a city. This would help in mitigating several environmental problems. To illustrate this, a recent study conducted in February 2021 by the climate preservation committee of the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), emphasized that planting 6 million trees in gulf states would possibly participate in solving the greenhouse effect and this would result in decreasing the Gulf region’s average temperature about 7 to 9 degrees. As this example shows, planting new trees is a contributory factor in solving one of the most problematic issues which is a greenhouse effect. Thus, developing the open areas in a city to be green has a positive impact on the environment. On the other hand, as more and more housing buildings construct in a city, the living of its inhabitants become difficult. These new villas and apartment buildings would likely increase the population density. Capital cities in Egypt, namely Cairo and Alexandria, have been experiences a plethora of traffic jams which make moving around these places is a nightmare. This difficulty resulted mainly from the enormous rate of these cities population censuses. This example makes it clear that increasing the number of accommodation buildings in cities probably has a negative outcome on their citizens’ life. Hence, dealing with open areas in a city as potential spaces for building new dwellings is not a practical alternative. To conclude, due to the advantageous impact on the environment and maintaining a good standard of living in many cities, I entirely concur with planting new trees in the open spaces of a city rather than transforming these areas to be built for housing.