Some children spend hours every day on smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the contemporary era, there is a trend rising among the young generation to use mobile phones for excessive amounts of time regularly. It is evident in the recent reports that this position is becoming worse day by day which is an alarming sign for society. Although I believe that there are several opportunities for distance learning through technology, this situation should be considered negative progress because of its many unhealthy sides. In terms of reasons behind this issue, firstly, adolescents are considering smartphones as their primary source of entertainment as they find enormous amounts of content there. To illustrate it, children are addicted to gaming while they are supposed to play outside with others. Besides, open fields and parks are being destroyed and so they don't have any option to do outdoor activities. Moreover, because of urbanization, the whole situation is going against the kids, therefore, they are forced to spend hours watching screens. Overall, the repercussions of this situation are forming some remarkable events that are generating a lot of concerns. For instance, proper socialization is hindered and the children are not growing compassion for each other. Additionally, there are various health concerns regarding the excessive use of technology that must be considered as dangerous. After all, the young generation is wasting a lot of time on them and that stops their proper growth. To conclude, I believe that the whole circumstance is getting worse every day and it must be controlled for the proper development of adolescents.