To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The Shortage of food supply across the globe causing people to ponder over their heads to look for other alternatives, especially insects. But, many oppose this view as insects affect both the environment and humans. There are many advantages and disadvantages of eating an insect. As insects are the smallest creatures among all, it is very easy to hunt and harvest them and it requires less effect on feeding them. For example, Cows usually require lavish grasslands to yield better products like milk and meat. But, insects don't require a great diet to produce better food products and the human effect involved is considerably low compared to animals. Additionally, Eating insects can also come with healthier benefits like plenty of nutrients available in insects like proteins, vitamins and low fat. This makes a wider audience adopt insects as a good replacement for food. However, this comes with numerous cons. Firstly, it is not healthy to eat insects especially some exotic insects that contain some poisons. The food made from these insects can affect our body and can cause a plethora of diseases. There is an argument that it will affect other living beings as well. Insects are considered as the lowest of the animal food chain. Most of the reptiles and birds rely on them as a primary food source. Even humans get honey from bees which is focal for both - as a medicine and food. Some microbes even need insects to survive. Finally after going through all these pros and cons, it is essential for population to choose whether we really need insects as a food product as it adversely affects the complete circle of other species including humans.