Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Any language which is not officially spoken in a particular place is called a foreign language. In my opinion, learning a foreign language has many advantages beside its use for work or travelling. (32) We had seen in the past that people had a lack of knowledge as well as language skills. They used only one language and were completely unfamiliar with languages of other countries. Thus, there was no concept of learning a foreign language in the past. (44) Presently, the trend of learning international languages is spreading all over the world. Nowadays, people like to know the culture, traditions as well as languages of other countries. In this modern era of globalization, foreign language is not only necessary for those who frequently travelled to other countries or work abroad, but it is also a key skill for success in both academic and professional fields. For example, learning a foreign language is essential for students who want to go abroad for studies as they have to fulfil certain language requirements of universities. Similarly, the knowledge of foreign languages is compulsory for attracting customers around the globe in an online business network. (112) Due to recent development in Science and information technology, it has now become compulsory for people to have an additional skill of foreign language expertise. Thus, if the process of globalization keeps in motion, then the knowledge f connects a noun with the preceding word of foreign languages will surely become the need of the hour for various reasons. (51) Thus, in my opinion, knowledge of a foreign language is not only an entry requirement for travel or work abroad, but it is also a compulsory condition for everyone who wants to interact with the international community. (36)