More and more people want to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is irrefutable that branded products and services have become increasingly popular nowadays. This essay intends to discuss the reasons for this increasing brand consciousness. While there are some drawbacks of this trend, I consider it to be far more beneficial. There are many reasons why people are going after brands. The first reason is that these are considered a status symbol. Brands speak about the person who is buying them. Secondly, advertising and the media have spread awareness about these brands like wildfire. Branded items are also shown to have better quality and thus people prefer them over other products. Moreover, these brands have come within the pocket of the ordinary person. With the growing economy, the purchasing power of people has gone up, which also makes them go for brands. The increasing brand focus and consciousness has many advantages. The main advantage is that companies now emphasize on quality and customer service. Businesses know that to survive in today’s competitive world, they need to have a good brand reputation, and hence people are offered better services. To cite an example, if a person buys a branded cell phone, but unfortunately it stops working for some reason, he gets a full replacement, provided it is within the warranty period. Companies are also benefited as it becomes easier to introduce new products into the market. They need to spend less on marketing, if they already have a good brand image. Another positive effect is that these brands have led to the emergence of another big industry, which is of imitations or copies. This secondary industry is catering to a far bigger population and is adding a lot to the economy. On the downside, brands provide a feeling of inadequacy among those people who cannot afford them. Sometimes, people end up overspending on such items and this upsets the family budget. Some people may even resort to petty crime such as shoplifting, pickpocketing and chain snatching. Finally, people are becoming workaholics to buy such products, and are failing to draw a line between work and leisure and also between work and family, which is adding to their stress and strain. To sum up, brand heedfulness can be attributed to many reasons. Despite the few drawbacks, I believe this rising lure of branded products to be a positive development overall.