Many major cities are facing a housing crisis as they cannot provide enough land for new buildings. Some local governments believe the problem could be solved by reassigning park land for residential development, because this land would be better used for housing.

There is a massively increasing number of the population taking place in our contemporary society. That is, this leads to a situation where a larger supply of houses is demanded. While some consider redeveloping parkland as a solution to house crises, there are also a large number of people who stand against the idea of damaging the natural environment. From my perspective, I strongly believe that park areas should be preserved as long as possible for the sake of quality of life in the cities From one side of debate, allowing parkland to be reassigned for hosing can be considered as much more economical when high rising building. Also, high rising buildings last for a long term as it must be built in a stable construction to support its weight. For example, the capital city of Japan, Tokyo where many populations have been congested, there is roughly ninety percent of high rising buildings. As a result, parkland assigned for high rising building can be seen as economical as it provides not only a long period of expectancy but also stable construction. Meanwhile, green areas used for redevelopment for housing can have a negative impact on our environment. Number of trees to be cut, the smaller amount of oxygen to be supplied. The World Health Organization (WHO) has suggested that every city should have a minimum of 9 square meters of green space per person for fighting against the pollution made by cars, factories and the burning of fossil fuels. Thus, green areas play an important role in our environment, minimizing the level of pollutions. Furthermore, those tending towards the second opinion argue that preserving great condition on the environment can also be seen as an important factor for the next generation. In fact, Tropical forests are the major buffer against climate change, so burning them has a double impact on global heating. For instance, Australian The government has environmental laws in which people are prohibited to visit natural areas. Such being the case, the conservation of the environment can drive future generations into a situation where they can face fewer issues on global warming. To recapitulate, while there are a large number of advantages of redeveloping park land for residential places, the advantages of preserving natural environments outweigh its merits. Therefore, preservation of the environmental places is strongly recommended.