Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that rich nations ought to allow greater numbers of forced migrants past their borders and give them humanitarian relief. This essay totally agrees with this opinion because it is the morally correct thing to do and it will also help their economy in the long term. Refugees are fleeing their homeland because of war and famine. This means that many of these people will die or come to serious harm if they are not accepted by western states and it is therefore moral imperative that they allow them in. That is to say that if they do not shelter and feed them they would be responsible for many deaths and terrible suffering. For example, migrants from Syria are escaping a brutal war and this is the reason why Germany and other European countries have decided to grant hundreds of thousands of them asylum. Thousands of extra people coming into a country will also help boost the economy. This is because there will be more workers available and they will, in turn, pay tax and also buy goods and services in that country. They may need extra financial support in the beginning, but this will be paid back many times over if they stay and work. For example, millions of Vietnamese people were forced to leave their homeland in the 1970s and many of them have established thriving businesses in the USA which pay billions of dollars in tax every year. In conclusion, refugees should be accepted with open arms by countries in the western hemisphere because it is the right thing to do on moral grounds and it will also benefit the host countries monetarily in the future.