The governments shoild give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on ,even if they are not unemployed. To whhat extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the primary jobs of the government is to improve the quality of living of citizens. There is a belief that the administration should provide a standard pay to every individual for their living even if they are working. In this essay, I will explain why I disagree with this opinion and support my view with examples. Firstly, an individual should be independent and be able to take care of themselves. If the ruling body of the country decides to pay a fixed income to each and every citizen, then it would be spending a huge chunk of the budget which could have been spent on other useful needs. For instance, this money could have been contributed to improving the defence sector or even the insurance and medical sectors. In addition, abandoning this practice might result in many people protesting or rioting as this amount might be of importance to them. Secondly, many governments in different countries already support this idea in various ways. For example, the Indian government has a policy of public provident fund which acts as a saving account in which both the employee and the government can contribute. Because of this, more and more people are encouraged to work which ultimately leads to the betterment of the country. Furthermore, there are many subsidies and benefits offered by the administration to the unprivileged and the unemployed people too. In conclusion, although the idea of paying a fixed income to citizens to improve their lifestyle and livelihood sounds good on paper, In my opinion, this is inefficient as this would mean allocating a huge amount of the budget towards something that could be managed conveniently in various other ways.