Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

Thanks to the development of the Internet, online shopping has become more popular in recent years. Although this trend can have positive impacts on the environment and employment patterns, the negative aspects still exist. To begin, the availability of e-commerce platforms has contributed to the reduction of travelling to the showrooms or shopping malls which eliminates a large amount of carbon dioxide releasing into the atmosphere. For instance, as a busy student, I decide to make a purchase online instead of visiting the local shops which are not only saving time but it also offers a wide range of choices. In addition, many residents can find the suitable jobs easily in the digital world compared to the past, which was impossible to earn a stable income. For example, there has been a growth of the online stores on the social networks recently that make their lives become easier. In contrast, although these online platforms benefit the human lives remarkably, its drawbacks are undeniable. First of all, the popularity of shopping on the Internet may encourage people to purchase more due to the convenience which means more waste and plastic bags needed to serve every product that results in the filling of landfills. Second of all, there will be the bankruptcy of traditional retailers, many stores in Saigon, for example, were forced to close the door because the citizens have chosen the home-delivered services as the most convenient way. In conclusion, despite the positive aspects of shopping online like the elimination of carbon footprints and the existence of the many choices of job opportunities, people have to deal with the garbage problems and the economic crisis in the long term.