The number of old people around the world is increasing dramatically. Could this have more positive or negative effects on society?

The life expectancy of age citizen has been remarkably increased. There have been ongoing debates whether ageing population is beneficial for society or not. Some people opine that seniors, who often have more life experience, contribute to the surrounding in some ways. However, few others argue that statement. Therefore, before arriving at a decision, both views will be examined. There are certain reasons to favour the brighter side. The benefits that it yields to the environment are plentiful. The first and foremost advantage is that older teachers, who are often more experienced, are the witness of the history and they can reveal the past to us more practical than others. Another significant factor is that an older person can be a good companion for the kids. To exemplify it, there is a paradigm of several cases where young members of a family are busy outside and cannot manage time to share with offspring. In those cases, old masses of the family seem to a perfect partner for toddler and can help them to grow up in a family environment rather than in a daycare centre. Moreover, the nursing home comes with a hefty price. On the flip side, there are others who do not agree with the aforementioned statement. They have an opposite notion and reckon that drawback overweigh the advantages. The first most valid reason they give is that elders cannot do much physical labour and that is why, they have little practical contribution to the society compared to their counterparts. Hence, they are considered to be burdened, especially in those areas whose people suffer from extreme poverty as more attention and extra care is required for them. Apart from this, it has been proved from ages that man, at a certain age, is more susceptible to developing numerous diseases. To illustrate, in India, the Union Health Ministry recently said that those above 60 years of age account for 60 per cent of Covid-19 deaths as the virus affects the elderly population disproportionately and fatally. To recapitulate, considering everything, I firmly believe that the given question has both pros and cons. Nonetheless, if I ponder on both aspects in detail, I come to a conclusion that positive side is more effective and powerful. So, it should be focused on. The reason is that although they are not much physically active, they can handle the situation in the best way due to a vast knowledge of life.