There is an increasing trend around the world to have a small family rather than a large family. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of having a small family rather than a large family?

In recent days, customs and traditions related to family planning have been on a continuous revolution. Although it is stated that being a part of an extended family has its own advantages, it is still argued by some that having a small family is much better in the modern days. This essay will demonstrate the main advantages and possible drawbacks of having a nuclear family; though, I personally believe that being a part of a small family is beneficial from both the perspective of children and parents. To begin with the positive attributes, a crucial advantage of having a nuclear family helps save a lot of time and money. Primarily, a child gets proper care and attention from their parents. During their initial stages of growth, for instance, they receive more attention and emotional support from their parents. This support would help the children to perform better in their later days as it will not only boost their self-esteem, but in their academics and professional lives. In addition to this, parents also save on their investments. Even though people believe that having a large family is beneficial in the longer run, it is often agreed that parents do have to spend a good amount of money to educate their offsprings. Clearly, a nuclear family is advantageous in today’s modern world. Despite all the benefits, having a small family does have a certain particular set of drawbacks. Looking from the child’s point of view, there may be a concern where they could be selfish with all the care and attention that their parents have drawn towards them. Rather than being matured and supportive, these youngsters could turn to be overly parented and spoilt. Furthermore, considering the parent’s perspective, there are high chances where they would be concerned about their welfare during their old age. In my country, for instance, many adolescents leave their home and go to a foreign land to learn and settle, their parents are home alone with no much of family support and medical attention when required. In short, being a part of a small family does have certain disadvantages associated with it. In conclusion, even though families are getting smaller, considering it a positive or negative would completely depend upon an individual. However, there are certain drawbacks which are linked with smaller family; I, however, believe that smaller family are better and it outweighs the disadvantages.