When it comes to workplace, we normally think we have to go there to work. A lot of us commute work every day. However, there are some people who work remotely at their homes or away from their offices. What do you think is the reason why some companies permit their employees to work this way?

It is believed that for many years in the past and for most businesses, it has been common sense that people have to commute to their workplaces. However, where we work has been changing. More and more staff are working remotely, sometimes at home. The reasons are to save company expenses and not to have limitations on recruiting talented job seekers. First of all, corporations want to reduce their operating costs. Moreover, among the many ways of achieving this goal, having employees work remotely can reduce money spent on equipment that workers generally need if they have to labor in an office. Long ago, I used to work for an institution that was located in the city far from where I lived. Additionally, there was no branch office where I could commute to, however that business wanted me. The only option left for both of us was for me to stay home and work remotely. With the advances in technology, especially the Internet, I was able to work fine a long way from the company. If the organization had set up a workplace for me, they would have had to spend a large amount of money. Secondly, establishments can create more chances to hire qualified and competent employees who live far away from the workplaces. Sometimes, engineers in the computer, biotechnology, pharmaceutical fields, and so forth, are not easily found locally. What if a high-tech company finds a candidate perfectly suited for its job, but the candidate doesn't want to relocate? Then there is no choice but to let the person work remotely. To conclude, I do believe that cost-conscious firms want to save money to increase profits and they want to find qualified employees without worrying about geographical restrictions. To achieve these goals, institutions choose to allow their members of staff to work at home if no other options are available. It seems that working at home or remotely is a growing trend nowadays.