Today, more people are travelling than ever before. Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveller?

In recent times, travelling has become a hugely popular activity. This essay will explore a number of possible factors behind this rise in popularity and detail some of the benefits that travelling can offer travellers. One of the main reasons why the number of people travelling has increased is that travel is much more affordable than it used to be. For instance, whereas in the past it might have cost the average person a year’s salary to travel from Britain to Turkey, these days it is possible for British tourists to enjoy a last -minute city break in Istanbul for the cost of half a month’s pay. Another significant cause is the rise in social media. This is influential because websites like Facebook and Instagram present their users with an unending stream of photos of friends in exotic locations, thus eliciting a desire to travel. This growth in travel means that many people can now enjoy the benefits of travelling, not least among them a reduction in stress levels. Travellers can use trips abroad to relieve their work- related anxieties and focus on the present moment. This, in turn, can increase their happiness and boost their immune system. A second merit of travelling is that it can help to broaden people’s horizons. For example, exploring unfamiliar regions gives travellers a chance to experience new cultures and meet people from different backgrounds. As a result, travellers can enjoy a deeper appreciation for the world. In conclusion, greater affordability and the influence of social media are two reasons why a record number of people are travelling these days. The benefits for these travellers include decreased stress levels and increased awareness and appreciation.