Some people believe that to give opportunities to the new generation companies should encourage high level employees who are older than 55 to retire. Do you agree or disagre

A successful career is an ambition, that all humans have. To reach the pinnacle of any field, it is necessary to work for a long time in the same. However, it is a common thought of a few, that, workers tend to overstay for their own goals, failing to make way for new ones. Subsequently, it is suggested that these experienced job holders quit and pave the route for the new age. In my view, I concur with this notion, and I will provide reasons for the same. Firstly, the unemployment rate among youngsters is at an all-time high. Unemployment amongst the youth is a perennial problem around the world. If people over the age of fifty-five were to retire, it will open a number of opportunities for the new generation. For instance, India introduced a compulsory retirement age of fifty-eight for government administrators which in turn, has helped curb unemployment by twenty per cent. Secondly, scoring a job as a fresher in these times has been met with great difficulties. Moreover, this leads to a vicious cycle of failure as the established jobs are thinned out amongst the veterans. For example, in a recent study by IIM Bangalore, ninety per cent of the positions available on the market require some sort of previous. Furthermore, in the era where ambitions are at the top of every individual's pyramid, other important aspects of life, such as family, friends, and health are ignored. To emphasise, a study by John Hopkins concluded that, men under seventy, whose careers have continued over the age of sixty, were three times more likely to suffer from cardiovascular diseases than those who bow down their hats early. Also, the importance of social life is something that cannot be highlighted enough. The step to encourage premature retirement would help preserve important relationships. Case in point, people whose careers span over fifty years are twice as likely to get divorced than their counterparts. In conclusion, encouraging the old guard to retire is a beneficial move for all the parties involved. This helps decrease an important social issue whilst also improving the quality of life for the elderly.