Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people argue that the government should allocate its amount on the construction of railways, while others claim that it should be focused on roads. Personally, I think railways are more essential than roads for social and educational reasons. First of all, it is generally believed that trains are twice faster than roads. In other words, this transportation system follows a railway track which allows trains to level up its speed. One clear example is a track from Calcutta to jogbani that takes almost a day to reach but more than two days if travelled by bus. In my experience, railways are more effective as well as efficient in terms of travelling from one place to another. Therefore the government should be more focused on railways despite its high budget. On the other hand, people who oppose this view feel that highways should be built, which means that the income of the nation should be spent to construct roads because of its effectiveness in both time and cost. The fact that is concluded by the Ministry of Transportation illustrates that the construction of highways requires less amount of time and money. For this reason, some people want such types of facilities should be given more priority. Taking everything into consideration, it is clear that both transportation methods are equally important in their own ways as trains are much speedy and bus needs less time and money. Therefore, I strongly believe that the National revenue should be focused more on railways rather than roads.