Tests and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you thinnk the educational benefits of testing outway any disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whether to apply examinations as a procedure to assess student's abilities is a controversial discussion point. This writer argues that the benefits of appropriate budget and providing a better educational method outweigh the drawbacks of strain and stress. The most advantageous factor of testing systems is that they can be organized with low investment. In other words, the system's structure can be operated much simpler compared to other methods which will evaluate students. As a consequence, schools can spend more money on improving the facilities in the schooling environment in order to propel student's learning conditions to go up. Therefore, the testing system should be considered to be applied for their low expenditure. Providing an efficient teaching approach is a point worth considering. It must be recognised that throughout the test results, teachers can discover student's abilities, so as to adjust the ways of teaching to fit in with every student. From prior knowledge, schools in the UK use examinations as a survey to develop alternative teaching techniques if it has weaknesses. Therefore, applying tests has a positive impact on enhancing the quality of education. However, it must be understood that tests and examinations often cause stress-related diseases for students. This is because of the nervousness about the score which stems from peer pressure and high expectations from parents. This may be true, but encouragement and suitable psychotherapy given by teachers and parents, will go a long way in filling students with motivation to move forward. Consequently, tests and examinations give students the determination to improve themselves rather than fall behind. In conclusion, the negative impact on student's mental health is outweighed by low investment and appropriate teaching methods. Hence, the test system brings benefits to education rather than harm