Prison is the common way most countries try to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide the public a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (OPINION ESSAY)

In recent years, there has been a tremendous increase in the number of individuals questioning the approach used to deal with criminals. While some strongly disagree, I firmly believe that providing a better education will reduce the crime rate. From my perspective, improving the education system, not only guarantees a more secure society, but also bridges the gap between rich and poor. To begin, there is an argument to be made that a country's safety depends on the quality of public education. For example, in Finland, the crime rate does not exceed 5% annually due to their education system that concentrates on combating any criminal activities. For this reason, it is evident that improving education creates more coherence within the system and increases the understanding between people. What is more, it ensures people learn about morals and the consequences of behaving wrongly, so they are more aware of the punishment. This being the case, it can be assumed that if an effective plan to reform the education system, would establish common grounds to hinder any possibility of breaking the law in the country. In addition, it must be stated that delivering education to a wider range number of the population, means the financial stability of individuals is secured. For instance, the poverty line in Canada does not surpass 10% because of the high rate of educated people in the country. Therefore, it is clear that further education advancement drops the unemployment rate and encourages people to join different job fields. Furthermore, the poverty rate would decrease, because people would make enough money to have a stable life. With this in mind, there is no doubt that if the proportion of educated people rises, this would boost the socioeconomic status of the overall society. To conclude, the overwhelming evidence seems to suggest that enhancing the education system targets public needs by providing financial stability, which as a result ensures a lower rate of crimes.