A knowledge of maths isn’t important for many job’s nowadays. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Knowing maths has become a controversial topic recently. While some people argue that it is not a significant discipline for many jobs, others, including me, consider it to be important. Analyzing the importance of having a knowledge of mathematics to both logical thinking and career prospects will be shown below. To begin with, knowledge of math boosts a person’s intellectual abilities; it improves their performance in workplaces as they would think coherently and manage to do their work perfectly. Software developers, for instance, have studied mathematics as an integral part of their major which helps most of them to improve both sophisticated thinking and problem-solving skills. Not only do they improve their work performances owing to these skills, but also enhance their workplace productivity. This happens by developing strategies to solve problems in advance by predicting and analyzing the probabilities of these possible struggles which leads to productivity. As this example shows, logical thinking is one of the prominent advantages of math knowledge that benefits the employees and their workplaces. On the other hand, individuals who believe that most professions do not need a knowledge of math might think this knowledge has no positive impact on a person’s career or the job he does. They argue that blue-collar jobs, for example, need a certain physical ability rather than mathematics to guarantee the job. However, this thought is rather ill-founded as the fact might be the opposite. The likelihood is that a knowledge of maths would possibly help the employee, irrespective of his profession, to enhance their opportunities of promoting and securing a career progression. To illustrate this, a recent study conducted by the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC), in August 2020, found that around 82% of managerial positions, in 3000 of 4530 companies in the Gulf States, occupy with people who hold a business degree along with their main academic qualifications. This example makes it clear that those managers seek a diploma in Business which mainly depend on mathematical science to boost their career prospects. Thus, if the employee wants to guarantee a higher position and stability, he possibly strengthens his academic qualifications by pursuing a degree in numerical science. To conclude, despite the fact that mathematics is not a quintessential part of practising some professions, I agree it is an important knowledge due to its positive influence on employees’ career progressions and their reasoning thinking.