Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

It is a controversial topic in education whether schools should teach pupils to be competitive or cooperative. Recently, the activities to arouse the competition sprits are inclined to decrease compared to they used to. To a certain extent, I support this trend to stretch each child's uniqueness and raise tolerant people who can respect diversity. Some people alarm that adolescent would get less passionate to achieve higher goals due to less competitive education. Needless to say, when people have a good rival, they gain the momentum to make an effort to win or defeat the opponent. From their perspective, teaching children in a non-competitive way lacks opportunities to deal with difficult situations desperately. On the other hand, some claim that comparing pupils is a cruel way. As a consequence of the races among their friends, they might get hurt or become assertive to others. For example, in Japan, it was common to announce the students' rank to everyone. However, it caused bullying and truant students. Therefore, teamwork is more substantial in the future. Considering that, in my opinion, cooperation is more beneficial than competitive education since youngsters can naturally learn how to respect each other, and it is an essential skill in this diverse global village. I believe that teachers have to evaluate the process that they make an effort rather than just figures so that youths can stretch their strength and overcome their limitations and respect others' result.