Some people think that cars should be banned from large cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

As the global population has increased significantly, so has the number of the automobile on our roads. This dramatic rise has led to the suggestion that large urban areas should prohibit private automobile. I firmly believe that the implementation of such a policy would have disastrous consequences for two main reasons which I will explore in further detail in this essay. Banning cars from the city centre of a number of large urban areas will eventually cause additional problems due to insufficient infrastructure. As tens of thousands of commuters who previously relied on using their own cars will suddenly be required to find alternative methods of transport to enter the city, existing public transport facilities and infrastructure will be overwhelmed. In the case of commuter trains, for example, simply adding extra services will not work if the train stations cannot cope with these new commuters,especially as most of them need to enter and exit the city during peak hour. Therefore, abruptly banning cars without additional investment in other services is a recipe for disaster. There will also be devastating economic consequences as many businesses in the heart of the city rely on private vehicles to deliver supplies on a daily basis. Without this form of transportation, these businesses will not be able to conduct their day-to-day operations. It would be particularly challenging for restaurants and florists who require fresh produce and flowers to be delivered every day. While a ban on private cars may improve traffic and lower pollution, it is also likely to cause businesses to fail and increase unemployment. In conclusion, despite the rise in ownership of private vehicles and the resulting urban issues, banning these vehicles is not a viable option. Doing so would mean that public transport services would not be able to cope with the higher demand and many companies relying on the use of private automobile would struggle to run their businesses successfully.