Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's rapid age of modernization, environmental issues have been frequently discussed these days. There are some people who opine that the authorities and businesses should be the only ones to take full responsibility for climate change. From my perspective, I disagree with this notion since it is a case that humanity should work cooperatively before it is too late. On the one hand, it is well known that due to the spread of the idea of industrialization, the combustion of fuels is one of the primary sources of pollution. In developing countries particularly, highly toxic chemicals are discharged directly into our environment every day. Therefore, it is crucial for the governments to engage with businesses in order to create legislation reducing carbon dioxide. On the other hand, there is another aspect to be considered, not only manufacturing factories is notorious for damaging the earth but also human daily activities account for the majority of factors that lead to global warming. According to an article published in BBC News states that the use of vehicles has contributed to two-thirds of greenhouse gases. Hence, individuals can assist the authorities to slow down this phenomenon by switching to public or eco-friendly means of transport. Furthermore, inhabitants can take action on contamination prevention by reducing plastic use and using alternative energy once these simple methods are proven to have a range of positive impacts on improving the surrounding environment. In conclusion, it seems to me that a small contribution can bring massive changes, reforms, and evolution around us. On balance, each native should be aware of this problem, enroll with the government to save the earth.