Some people think that the government should pay one of the parents of very young children to stay at home to look after their children. What do you think would be the advantages and disadvantages of this policy?

It is undeniable that parents, as children’s inner circle, have the responsibility to take care of their son and daughter during their upbringing. A growing number of people believe that the government should pay them a considerable amount of money for these activities. In this essay, I will discuss both positive and negative sides of such a policy. First and foremost, providing the money for the parents could harness their willingness to take care of their beloved ones at their abode. By and large, most teenagers who live in the urban areas tend to play outside after school hours because their parents become breadwinners for their family. In other words, their parents are unlikely to provide sufficient attention because they have to work all day at the office. By getting adequate cash from the government, they are likely to resign from their current job and start to educate the young generations at home. As a result, supervision provied by parents would become more effective. However, this approach also introduces some drawbacks. One of the greatest adverse impacts is it would create a huge sum of expenditure borne by the government. Obviously, this becomes a serious problem in less-developed countries, which are often more populous than advanced nations. Perhaps an excellent example of this is Indonesia, which consists of more than a million households. If the government has to pay the whole parents in every single city, other sectors which are considered more vital such as health, education and trade would be neglected. Consequently, the society and businesses would experience devastating conditions because of poor public amenities and lack of advanced development. To sum up, cash transfer, which is intended to promote better parental supervision on children, brings merit for the backbones of a family since it could enhance the quality of supervision. Nevertheless, this intervention obviously presents larger state expenditures. Unless the government carries out rigorous policy evaluations, the country would eventually suffer in financial crisis in the upcoming years.