It is more important for schoolchildren to learn about local history than world history. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that schoolchildren should learn about local history rather than world history. From my point of view, I disagree with this opinion because I believe that both of them are equally crucial. On the one hand, there are many reasons why schoolchildren should be taught about local history. As a citizen of one country, every pupil needs to have thorough insights into their ancestors in order to know their origin and historical backgrounds. Through learning local history, schoolchildren can understand what their ancestors have been through to bring them freedom and sovereignty in the present time, which leads to an increase in their gratitude and patriotism. As soon as schoolchildren are proud of their country, they will make efforts to study and strive to develop more in order to dedicate themselves and help their nation to become better. On the other hand, it goes saying that learning about world history also plays an important role to schoolchildren. We know that there are many countries in the world with different traditional values and identity. As a result, acquiring knowledge from world history would broaden students' horizons and equip them with a well-rounded perspective of not only historical events but also real life. For instance, lessons about the Feminism protest against woman abuse and discrimination provide schoolchildren with respect for women’s right and freedom. Moreover, students who have opportunities to approach the world ’s history would feel more confident in communicating with foreigners when travelling since they already have a certain amount of knowledge about traditional customs and local cuisine. In conclusion, schoolchildren should be taught about local history and world history because both of them will bring different advantages for learners.