It is argued that the parents of children who break the rules should be punished in some ways as parents are responsible for the children's actions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globally, juvenile delinquency continues to be a pervasive issue. There is an argument whether the parents should be responsible for their children ’s actions or not. Although parents are majorly responsible for their offspring’s actions, I entirely harbour the perspective that lawbreakers would be accountable for their offences and ought to be sentenced. To commence with, parents should be punished if their child does any crime as there are a huge number of cases are stemming from lack of parent’s attention and love towards their children. Nowadays, parents are working ceaselessly in order to earn a luxurious livelihood for their wards, but it affects terribly on their children as it will have detrimental impacts on their cognitive development, and they would be more likely to indulge in anti-social activities. However, I still hold the firm belief that children who commit crime should also receive deserving punishments. Firstly, when the young offenders are punished with having custody and serve community service, they would deeply understand the seriousness of their wrongdoing and feel regretful. To be precise more, by conducting punishments, young people can be well-educated about the cost of crime committing and will never repeat the same mistake in future. For instance, if parents will take all the blame on themselves, it will have misled impacts on their offsprings, which force them to understand that if they commit any misdeed, it will not bother them at all. Hence, deserving punishments should be given to them to alleviate the causes of juvenile delinquency in the long run. In conclusion, despite the fact that parents are responsible for their children ’s offences, the lawbreakers ought to be solely answerable for their crimes. Therefore, I strongly believe that children should be penalised according to the justice system.